SAS Scandinavian Airlines

Scandinavian Airlines or SAS, formerly Scandinavian Airlines System, is a consortium based in the three Scandinavian countries Denmark, Norway and Sweden. SAS Group, which runs the consortium, is owned by half of the three countries (17.9 percent by Sweden, 11.9 percent by Norway and 14.3 percent by Denmark) and the remainder by private investors, including the Wallenberg sphere. It was formed through a merger of several airlines from Sweden, Norway and Denmark. The consortium’s operations consist of domestic, European and intercontinental traffic. SAS has bases in five Scandinavian cities: Stockholm, Copenhagen, Oslo, Stavanger and Trondheim. Intercontinental traffic is based on Stockholm, Oslo and Copenhagen. Some traffic takes place through the subsidiary Scandinavian Airlines Ireland. The Group’s head office has since 2014 been based in Frösundavik, Solna.

Fleet Size : 158

Destinations : 136

Iata Code : SK

Icao Code : SAS

Prefix : 117